Tags

, , , , ,

When I just need to relax, there’s nothing better than kicking back with a glass of great wine (red of course) and watching a movie or the latest episode of one of my shows.

Recently it was some deep cherry tasting Pinot Noir with a side of fresh frites cooked to perfection in delicious duck fat. That’s right, duck fat. Kind of unusual, but after making these fries I’m convinced that anything cooked in it will turn out amazing!

I got the idea for the thick-cut fries cooked in duck fat from “Grillhouse – gastropub at home”, the newest cookbook from one of my favorite chef’s, Ross Dobson. The recipes in there ain’t exactly diet foods, so not something you should be eating everyday.  However, the food turns out so great that it’s worth the occasional indulgence.

For the setup, I used my acacia wedge server from Crate & Barrel. This unique and versatile server can be used for serving drinks, bread, cheeses, holding candles, and a whole bunch of other things. Each wedge server is unique in size and color because it’s a solid chunk of acacia tree. Each server has a rustic feel to it with its unique interior grain pattern and dark bark rim. The whole thing is hand-finished with vegetable oil in Thailand to give it a solid down to earth look perfect for this gastropub duck fried snack.

The server has this really nice smoky smell, so I didn’t want the fat from the fries to get all over it and ruin it. Instead, I stacked the fries into two small ramekins lined with parchment paper, keeping the fat off the wood. The wine went into my “Eddy” stackable wine glasses, also from Crate & Barrel. They are simple and solid, and they have this great everyday European feel to them.

Even though the movie we ended up watching wasn’t exactly Oscar material, the crispy to perfection frites and really nice wine, Alfredo Roca Pinot Noir, more than made up for that.

