Tags

, , , , ,

In my opinion, the best way to make delicious food and great wine even better is to add company. Yesterday I prepared my famous spicy lobster bisque and made sure to invite some friends over to share it. It made eating it that much more enjoyable, but also I’m pretty sure they would have killed me if they found out they missed it!

Since the bisque is a big deal, I decided to use my red linden tablecloth and paired it with matching red napkins. Since the food would be presented center table, I didn’t go with a focal centerpiece. Instead, I decorated the table with fresh garden flowers using eggcups as small vases; an inspirational idea I covered in my last post. As for the place settings, I used all white plates and vintage gold and silver flatware I received from my mom as a bridal shower gift. Finally, I used large balloon wine glasses on the table because they are perfect for bringing out the flavor in bold red wine, and paired them with another wine glass as a water goblet.

We started the night off with some tasty lettuce chicken wrap appetizers, prepared by my husband from a recipe found in Ross Dobson’s “Chinatown” cookbook. The wraps were presented on a raised edge server, which I acquired from Crate & Barrel at an extremely affordable price. I feel the servers really helped give the lettuce wraps that ultra modern look.

The main course was of course my lobster bisque, I served this up in mini cauldron-like soup bowls, purchased from Crate & Barrel. The Brunswick soup bowl is great for any soup or stew but especially designed for preparing French onion soup since it is oven safe up to a scorching 500 degrees!

Finally, for dessert we indulged in some homemade apple and blueberry tarts fresh from the oven with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. This recipe is one of the first things I tried from Ross Dobson’s books, and has made my husband and I huge fans of his. This recipe for these tarts can be found in his cookbook “Kitchen Seasons”.

As the evening wound down, the ladies enjoyed a variety of martinis and the boys sipped some new scotch my husband had gotten in the states. Using my new app “mixology”, which I downloaded for free on my android, I was able to browse through martini recipes which used the ingredients I already had at home.  These kinds of smartphone apps are great because they let you enjoy all sorts of creative new drinks without having to chase down exotic liqueurs and fruits. Highly recommend it!

