Tags

, , , ,

I’ve never been a morning person, so unless someone gets up before me to make a proper breakfast, I end up eating cereal or a quick bagel. Nothing wrong with that, but I prefer something a bit more substantial when I get up. Luckily, my husband is a total morning person, so he gets up before me and makes breakfast for both of us, usually something really tasty, which means I get to sleep in a bit longer.

Sunday mornings gives us both a chance to sleep in and make a big brunch together. As you can tell from the photo above, I like to put some thought into the presentation, which makes any breakfast even better. For this particular brunch, my husband handled the eggs and bacon (crispy but not burnt) while I focused on my old fashioned pancakes. Skip to the bottom for the recipe, it’s never failed to produce delicious fluffy pancakes.

For the table setting, I used an old vintage looking water jug, which I found at HomeSense, to hold some fresh flowers. I always try to keep fresh flowers at home (or go across the street to get some), because they easily spruce up the table and can last up to two weeks if you get them fresh and water properly. To match the vibrancy of the yellow flowers I used my yellow and blue striped napkin rings, which are from Crate & Barrel. These napkin rings are really unique since they look and fasten just like a real belt!

The clear glass syrup dispenser, you can see beside the water jug in the above photo, is also from Crate & Barrel is probably my new favorite thing about eating pancakes. It might be a bit hard to see because it’s filled with delicious dark Maple Syrup, direct from the Mennonites in Southern Ontario. The dispenser is great because it allows me to control how much maple syrup goes onto my pancakes. Before I had the syrup dispenser, I would end up drowning my pancakes when pouring straight from the jug, but no more. Now I get exactly as much as I need. Also, it looks great as  part of a table setting, much better than the huge 2 liter jug the syrup usually comes in.

Old Fashioned Pancake Recipe

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon white sugar

1 1/4 cups milk

1 egg

3 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.
  2.  Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

Enjoy!

