Tags

,

If there is a better way to end a birthday dinner other than with a giant cupcake, I’d like to hear it!

A while ago, I acquired a giant cupcake mold from Home Sense, hoping that someday I would have the opportunity to use it. Many giant cupcake opportunities have come and gone, but I could never find a cupcake recipe that really motivated me to create the mega cupcake.

Luckily for me, while searching the web a few days ago, I came across a recipe for a giant red velvet cupcake on “triumphs and blunders of a kooky gal”, a cooking blog (link down below).  Some of you might already know this, but I don’t consider myself the greatest baker. Last time when I made a red velvet cake I ended up dying my skin red, on account of the red food colouring required in the recipe.

“Kooky gal’s” recipe was easy to follow and I was able to avoid creating a giant mess and dying my skin red. This time, the result was a cake that I was very proud; it looked awesome and tasted amazing too! I topped it with vanilla icing using the simple recipe included on “Kooky gal’s” blog. This icing wasn’t as sweet as icing I’ve made in the past from other recipes. Low sweetness icing is a huge bonus since too much sugar can drown out the taste of the actual cupcake.

The 3-D chocolate letters placed on the cake, as seen in the photo above, proved a bit of a challenge. The night before, with the help of my husband, I melted the chocolate, put it in a plastic bag, and squeezed the contents of the bag onto a flat board covered in parchment paper to create chocolate letters. Instead of squeezing the plastic bag to get the chocolate out, the chocolate just oozed out uncontrollably; this is because I did not let the chocolate cool enough before pouring it into the bag. I seriously suggest that you let the chocolate cool and thicken a bit before pouring into the pastry decorating bag.  Using cooler, but still liquid, chocolate will give you more control when creating letters. Once the letters are created, put them in the freezer to solidify overnight and then place them on the cake a few hours before serving.  That’s what I did and at least that part worked out well.

Despite the slightly misshapen and oversized letters, the cake was delicious and made my friends’ birthday celebration that much better!

Links:

“Triumphs and blunders of a kooky gal”

http://www.foodbuzz.com/recipes/2301322-red-velvet-giant-cupcake

