Tags

,

I have always been curious as to how hard or easy egg rolls are to make. In the past I always assumed that both egg rolls and spring rolls would take a lot of both time and effort to make to make yourself, thus forever opting store bought. However, upon finding an egg roll recipe in Ross Dobson’s “Chinatown” cookbook, I decided to give it a try. To my surprise, egg rolls are very simple and easy to make and result in a delicious snack or appetizer! The great thing about making your own is that you control what goes in there, meat, veggies, spices and you get to eat them fresh and not frozen.

For the wrappers I went with store bought (Wing’s brand), but I’ll work up the nerve to try to make my own one-day too. Maybe next time?

After frying up the rolls, I quickly got out two rounded rectangular plates, and placed a shallow square bowl on each for the sweet chili dipping sauce, resulting in a simple yet delicious midday snack.

