Tags

, ,

While planning my husband’s birthday this year I came across this numbered birthday cake on Martha Stewart’s online website. I instantaneously fell in love with this cake idea and had to make it for the party, especially because I had already made a number themed photo collage to be used as a party decoration shown in my blog “A Trip Down Memory Lane”.

As excited as I was to make this cake I became equally depressed when I could not find any one color or shade of m&m’s in Canada, as they only sell the standard assortment of m&m colors in a package. After browsing and calling many different specialty candy stores without success, I decided that it was time to take my m&m search online.

I was relieved to find that both Amazon and eBay had a wide variety of m&m colors and shades to choose from, with practical and affordable prices. However, what I did not anticipate was the extremely high costs of shipping the product to Canada. Three pounds of m&m’s plus shipping would end up costing me a total of $100, which is ridiculously high for some candy to be used as cake decoration. I decided that it was time to find a new birthday cake idea and recipe as the cake shown above would be far too costly to create.

With that being said I definitely want to attempt to make this cake again as it has that “wow factor” that I always look for at events. If anyone has any great substitutions or ideas on what decorations to put on this cake give me a shout, I would love to hear them!

 

Martha Stewart’s “Whose Counting?” Number Cake:

http://www.marthastewart.com/286890/a-number-themed-birthday-party-or-annive?center=0&gallery=287204&slide=286852

